Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Why am I doing this?

My friends Adam and Monica (**names may or may not have been changed to protect the not so innocent**) recently offered me a charity bib for THE Boston Marathon.  Ho. Lee. Shit.  Boston has been on my bucket list since I was probably 16 years old.  I said yes, of course, and even hubby is on board (we'll see how he feels later when I have to skip out for 3 hours on a Sunday).  It wasn't until later that I remembered I was never going to do another marathon ever.  Shit. I have completed 2...I won't say I "ran" 2, because that would be seriously overstating my case.  But I finished them, and I didn't die.  Mission accomplished.

I didn't train for my previous marathons, really.  My longest run for my first was 12 miles.  And I wondered why I didn't walk or shit right for 2 days?  For my second one, Monica thought she'd be cute and bust my ass.  I raced a half, jogged a 15, and walk/jogged an 18.  And peeled 27 minutes off my time...there are 80 year olds who marathon faster than me, so that's really not much of an accomplishment.  But I digress...

So I've never run Boston.  Don't even think I could ever come close to qualifying.  So I'm a poser.  But I'm going to run Boston.  I've already booked my flight.  It. Is. On.  Then my dear friends said that I have to train.  Like, for real train.  Shit.  Ok fine.  Train for a 3:59:59, they said.  I promptly reminded my friends that they are, in fact, crack smokers. But I accepted the challenge.  I have a 5-day a week plan that I think I can (mostly) stick to.  And another friend who has agreed to guilt me into doing my long weekend runs.  I hate her...but I love her.

After the initial "you're going to run 3:59:59", Adam talked to his coach about it.  Apparently, I'm supposed to run my easy days at 10 minute pace.  What. The. Fuck.  Seriously?  I'm comfortable at 8:45!!  But fine.  Whatever.  I'll be Adam's bitch.  I ran 4 miles at 10 minute pace.  It fucking sucks.  I feel like even more of a poser, if that's possible. 

So why am I blogging this?  I had the bright idea during my painfully slow run today, that I would document my little journey.  Maybe I'll look back on it in 30 years.  Maybe my kids will appreciate it someday.  Maybe I can show them and myself what is possible.

Sparty on™