Sunday, April 15, 2012
3:59:59? not so much
forcast for tomorrow? 87 degrees. 87. In Boston. In April. the BAA actually offered deferrals. Meaning if I want, I can just skip it this year and do it next year instead. Thanks but no. I didn't train for this, fly out here, etc. to turn back now. I'm disappointed, sure. But I don't need to be stupid either. I'd like to remember Boston, not die there. Yesterday, we drove part of the course, including the infamous Heartbreak Hill. My heart was beating crazy fast, and I felt a little bit like I might throw up. Next was the expo...where incidentally Dean Karnazes bumped into me. He's about 5'3" by the way. Anyway, more anxiety. After several hours volunteering though I was calm. Today was super fun! I got to visit Baypath Humane Society, the group for which I am running. I badly wanted to bring home a dog! Most of the afternoon has been spent not thinking about tomorrow. Watching hockey, drinking water, and relaxing. Thhe fun begins in about 14 hours.
Sunday, April 8, 2012
20 miles
I did it. I wasn't sure after having two solid weeks of crappy runs. It was the most awesomely bizarre run I think ever in my life. I started out running 9:30 pacee...well trying to and fighting not to go too fast. I was just going to hang on to that pace for as long as i could and just see. I got to 6.5 miles still feeling great. stopped at a gas station for a pee break, munch some sportbeans, and chug some gatorade. Kept going. Got to 10 miles still feeling great. 10 is where I crapped out on my 18 mile run, but I was still on pace. I got to 12 miles and found myself grinning. I decided I would hold to 9:30 pace until I got to 15 miles and then let go. I did just that. Then miles 16 was 8:52. Oops. I got to 18 when my calves started cramping like a mofo. Then, I did it. I made it home. 20 miles. No walk breaks. That's the furthhest I've run without stopping. That's right. I totally gallowalked my 2 marathons. When I got done, I was actually laughing my ass off. That and crying like a bitch because my calves hurt so bad. So, anyway, I'm ready. I feel really good about a 4:20. And who knows? Maybe that 3:59:59 is within my reach after all.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)