I'm trying something a little different in my training...a rest day. That's not to say I'm one of those freaky streaker people who never takes a day off. On the contrary. I run much less than most people who know me probably realize. What I mean is, I never schedule a rest day. My rest days are usually "Ok, I'll get my bag packed to run at lunch." (lunchtime) "Nah, I don't feel like running today, so I'll take today off."
What I didn't realize was that while my body was resting, my brain was not. I had planned all day to run only to crap out and just not do it. My brain wasn't getting a break to not think about going for a run. I think this may have something to do with my constant struggle with consistency (ya think?).
Yesterday afternoon, after I did my run, I was trying to decide if I should run Friday and take Saturday off, or take Friday off and run Saturday. I planned the route I would run during lunch on Friday vs. the route near my home on Saturday. Looking at my schedule - which *officially* begins December 12 - it calls for off Friday, run hard Saturday. So be it.
Today, during my lunch break, the would-be time to run, I sat quietly and enjoyed a book. I came back from lunch to find that the planned route (had I run today) had a major car crash on it, during the time that I would have been running. A dude had a seizure and lost consciousness, veering across the center lane and hitting another vehicle. 3 people were taken to the hospital unconscious.
I think I'll go ahead and stick with the schedule.
No comments:
Post a Comment